The Unexpected Depth of a Facebook Quiz

Despite being so busy with my other projects that I’ve not posted on Games and Geekery in a while, I still find myself distracted by the world’s greatest procrastination tool, Facebook. Don’t get me wrong, Facebook is also a great tool for networking, marketing and crowdsourcing ideas. Those quizzes though are usually a time-suck of the worst kind, offering no real substance except to massage your ego.

This one surprised me. “Who Are You In The Different Worlds?” gave me this result:

result_2997_10153311119097297

I was about to just close the window and make myself go back to writing Hermes925 when I realised that these three characters may not just be arbitrary choices. All of them are tragic heroes. They’re all orphans, a long way from their own people, and they don’t really fit it in.

Tarzan lost his parents when he was still a baby, their plane crashing in the jungle, he alone survived. The gorillas found him and raised him as their own teaching him how to survive. His human ingenuity and inventiveness result in him achieving things the apes couldn’t conceive of. He becomes reunited with humanity but doesn’t fit in there either. He’s not truly comfortable or familiar in either the jungle, or among his fellow humans.

Kal-el, aka Superman, also lost his parents when he was still a baby. His hope planet was destroyed and he was sent to earth via rocket ship. The last son of Krypton. He was raised by humans but due to his alien physiology is capable of so much more. He doesn’t fit in, he’s more than they can ever be. He even overcomes death. He’s reunited with other members of his race, but they’re not like him either, and he has to defend humanity against them.

Jon Snow loses his parents as an adult. Killed by people who are struggling to gain and hold power. Exiled to the north to serve with the Black Watch, far away from his surviving family. He soon rises to power and influence showing more aptitude for leadership than his supposed family. He overcomes death (with a little help from the Red Woman) and is reunited with his family, but he isn’t his father’s son after all.

There’s a definite correlation. I haven’t lost my parents. They’re still alive. I didn’t really fit in at school, and high hopes for my future. When I went to college I fell in love with an American. I moved to the US and married her, but I didn’t fit in there either. Which is a shame, I thought maybe I could have a normal life, house, wife, garden, kids etc. I came back to the UK after I failed to achieve a nice normal life.

I certainly didn’t expect the results to confirm my deep conviction since childhood that I’m meant for something more. Not a hero exactly, but at to at least to achieve something more than my old classmates. When I was a kid I used to think I’d be a famous singer or an artist, I even went through phases of thinking I might be an astronaut or a scientist, a palaeontologist or an inventor. The common thread to all of my little stories was fame and glory. Now I think that I’m a storyteller, and when I’m writing I feel like I’m fulfilling my true purpose.

I wouldn’t have written any of this down today if it weren’t for that Facebook quiz.

If you’d like to see what I’m working on you can check out my WordPress page, antonymcopeland.me or join Patreon.com to gain access to exclusive content you’ll get nowhere else (not even on my personal page).

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Tony_the_Brit says:

    Reblogged this on Antony M Copeland and commented:

    This article I wrote for Games and Geekery might have fit better here.

    Like

Leave a Reply

