The Apocalypse Wasn’t So Bad

I loved Bryan Singer’s X-men movies, but I’d heard terrible things about X-men Apocalypse. Partly because of my fellow geeks having an aneurism over it, and also general lack of funds, I hadn’t actually got around to watching it until just last night.

I couldn’t help but grin when the ‘Bad Hat Harry’ logo reminded me that this too was a Bryan Singer X-men movie. I knew then that whatever came next could not be as bad as X3. The movie quickly establishes En Sabah Nur’s power and influence. Even demonstrating how he’s able to extend his life indefinitely and gain new powers by transferring his consciousness and genetics to new mutant host. The movie even demonstrates the fierce loyalty he earns from fellow mutants, and the threat he poses to humanity in the first few minutes.

brody-x-men-1200

Then we jump forward in time, and the movie reminds us that this movie is a continuation of the altered timeline established in ‘Days of Future Past’, a movie I thoroughly enjoyed. This should serve to remind everyone watching this movie that things will happen differently from the way they were already established in the first 3 movies. Nor should you expect things to happen as they do in the comics.

The X-men comics have been rebooted so many times that to dislike something because it’s different in the comics is nonsense. It doesn’t even happen in the comics the way it happened in the comics!

Having said that, I would have liked to have seen the accident that left Scott unable to control his power. Since both his parents are still there when we first see Havoc (same actor from First Class :)) I have to assume that they’re skipping it. The rest of the movie was awesome. The costume and makeup they chose for Apocalypse/En Sabah Nur didn’t bother me. Olivia Munn’s alleged poor acting never even registered.

wyq-d

I liked the references back to X-Men and X-Men 2, and First Class for that matter. Namely the Weapon X facility, featuring the same actor playing Stryker they used in Days of Future Past, and Auschwitz, where Magneto first learned to hate humanity. By far my favourite part though is Jean Grey.

If you’ve watched it you’ll know exactly which scene I mean. If you haven’t stop what you’re doing and go watch X-Men: Apocalypse right now! You’ll be glad you did. 🙂

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I saw this and thought something very similar. It is a decent enough film for what I was expecting it to be. Nothing more and nothing less.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Tony_the_Brit says:

      Absolutely. Not the best movie ever, but it’s hardly as bad as I was led to believe.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

