Thor: Ragnarok to kill off Hulk and Thor – DHTG

Mark Ruffalo, the actor who plays Bruce Banner, aka The Hulk, in the current Marvel movie franchise, recently revealed a teaser regarding Thor: Ragnarok that caught my attention. This is what he said when describing Cate Blanchett’s role as Hela, the movie’s villain.

“She plays the worst of the worst. So evil. She is going to kill us. It’s such a great part she gets to play.”

When I heard the words “She is going to kill us” I realised I’ve seen this storyline before. In an episode of Avengers Assemble called ‘Valhalla can wait‘. It’s Season 2 Episode 3 of Avengers Assemble, and it features Thor and Hulk battling one another in Valhalla. Of course, this is a cartoon, so instead of being killed, Loki tricks them into taking a rainbow bridge there. There Hela encourages them to fight, to see who is strongest. The winner gets to be her champion and the loser gets to return to Earth. The competitive natures of Hulk and Thor keeps them from coming up with a swift solution to their dilemma.

I’m sure the movie won’t be exactly the same. For one, I think Hela actually kills them, brings them to the afterlife, and challenges them to fight. I don’t think their motivation for fighting will be as simple as ‘to see who is strongest’, although there may be an element of that. Whatever Hela has in mind is certainly not good. The movie is called Ragnarok after all.

Thor-Ragnarok.png

 

Source: Thor: Ragnarok to kill off Hulk and Thor – DHTG

Until we create some original content I’m reblogging some old content I created for Don’t Hate the Geek. I owe them a lot and they really helped me get started on blogging obsession. So this is me paying tribute to them, with all the backlinks to their pages intact. Enjoy.

Antony M Copeland, formerly known as Tony_the_Brit

Leave a Reply

